Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been looking for a black leather bag for quite some time. It is not an easy task. It has to be large enough to carry all my daily essentials, resistant, preferably with a top zip closure, “shoulder-wearable” and black. It has to be black! Fundamentally, it has to be as trend-proof as possible because I want to wear it for a long time, not just for one or two seasons. So any fussy details are out no matter how nice they might look under 2011’s light.
I’ve only ever bought 2 black leather bags in my life.  The first was a Francesco Biasia bag with very classic lines that I bought when I got my first full-time job, 10 years ago. The second a Vanessa Bruno Athe suuuuper-roomy bag that I got from net-a-porter (almost) on a whim 4 or 5 years ago… and which I’ve been carrying almost daily since then. These bags still look nice in my opinion, but they’re getting too worn-out. Hence the need for a replacement!
After a few days of arduous research on my favourite online retailers, here are the magnificent 13 that would fit the bill…
1. Pandora bag  2. Nightingale shopper bag 3. Large black leather tote   1. Lune satchel  2. Long Beach bag1. Max bag 2. Billy bag1. Shopper   2. Shopper 1. Mulberry Bayswater tote  2. Marni leather tote  3. Alexander Wang Trudy zip-detail tote  4. Proenza Schouler PS11 texture-leather tote

What’s your favourite?

I think that taking into account both my requirements and price I’ll probably end up going for either Vanessa Bruno, Jerome Dreyfuss or Jas MB…

