Tags

, ,

I’ve just spent 5 days in Madrid. I LOVE that city! I lived in Madrid between 1999 and 2000, while I was finishing university, and since then it has had a very special place in my heart. It’s happy, it’s vibrant, it’s alive, it’s a manageable (size wise) city, it has great restaurants, night life, shops, museums, architecture, transports, parks, people… It’s almost perfect.

I’ve always found Barcelona an amazing city, but for me Madrid is the real deal, the true Spain (por supuesto, since Barcelona is Catalunya…)

Here’s a quick snapshot of the last days…

Cibeles ♥ Instituto Cervantes ♥ Edificio Metropolis ♥ Plaza Mayor ♥ Palacio Real ♥ Catedral de la Almudena ♥ Reina Sofia ♥ Jardin botanico ♥ El Retiro ♥ El oso y el madroño ♥ La Latina ♥ Chamberi ♥ Atocha

We were also very lucky to stay in a very cute little hotel in the barrio de Salamanca. It is called Dormidcine and all its décor is inspired by famous movies. We’re initially given the Diaries of a Geisha room, but endep up switching to the Kill Bill room (much to the delight of my husband, who prefers the latter film).

Some other rooms in our corridor…

Trip to Madrid (and stay in this hotel) highly recommended.

Besitos y hasta luego!

PS: for Portuguese speakers, here’s a great post from the Alfaiate Lisboeta about Madrid :)

