Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m going to be very minimal this time. In every trip I make I end up using only about one-third of all the make-up I carry with me. I’ve finally learned the lesson and I’m putting in practice a new model: I’ll only take the very, very essential from now on, i.e. the stuff I know I’ll wear every day.

So here are the selected few:

In more or less random order:Estee Lauder Daywear (this is a 2 in 1 product that I really like: tinted moisturiser + SPF15. I decided to skip foundation and wear this instead) ♥ Avène eye cream (this is new, but given it’s from Avène I think it’ll work just fine) ♥ Vichy Normaderm moisturiser (I’ve been using this ‘anti-imperfection hydrating’ cream for a week or two now, but I still don’t know how I feel about it. It’s definitely moisturising, but I’m not convinced it works well under the make-up… I think I’ll probably go back to my usual Avène skin recovering cream once I finish this bottle) ♥ Bobbi Brown pot rouge in powder pink (this is a cream blush that I think works fine with hot weather. I like the fact that its colour and texture look very natural on my skin) ♥ Shiseido multi-energising cream (I use this as a night cream and I love it. It’s perfect for my oily+dehydrated skin. But I think it’s actually too rich for the summer. Oops, I’ve just decided I’m leaving it in London) ♥ Nars cream eyeshadow duo Thebes (this will work as both eyeshadow and illuminator, if necessary) ♥ Shu Uemura eyelash curler (e s s e n t i a l) ♥ 2 eye pencils: black from Urban Decay and golden (powersurge) from Mac (e s s e n t i a l – part II) ♥ Lipbalm (this one is from Korres and it is very good) ♥ 2 lipsticks in neutral/pinkish colour (from Bobbi Brown and Paul & Joe) ♥ Lip gloss from Laura Mercier in Bare Beige (still not sure I’ll take this. I’m not a very big fan of lip gloss, although I think this one is particularly nice, almost non-sticky and it smells divine).

And on top of the products above, I’m also taking these…

Two comments here: (i) the ‘eau thermale’ from La Roche Posay I got for free. I’ve to admit I never really understood its added value (it’s just spring water. in a spray can. pfff). So I thought that since it’s very hot in Sicily I could at least use it to cool down during the trip, while we’re on the road, (ii) the Clarins Delectable self-tanning mousse is a godsend. I hate self-tanning creams. I really do. I can’t stand the way they smell, I hate the application process, and I don’t like the (patchy) colour that results from them. However, this one is different. Well, at least for me. Smells good, it’s very easy to spread and delivers a very natural and light colour. Give it a try if you’re looking for a self-tanner.

