I said I’d get back to you on a quite horrible looking but very useful pair of trekking shoes I bought for my holidays in Sicily…

So here’s the pièce de résistance…

Beautiful, eh? :) I bought them very reluctantly, following my husband’s advice (he had a little shopping frenzy at this outdoor clothing shop we visited before the holiday when he considered buying all kinds of weird equipment… as if we’re preparing for an expedition to the desert. Hilarious. I’d a few laughs with it). However, I must confess that these were the shoes of the trip. Best value for money purchase of 2012. Comfortable, totally blister-free, ultra-resistant. I wore them in all our long walks and even swam with them on in a few occasions. And all of this for £19.90. Super.

Anyway, to finish off this “packing for the holidays” series (promise. no more post about this!), I need to tell you about my packing strategy for this holiday… As I was sharing a suitcase with my husband and we’re hopping from B&B to B&B every 2 or 3 days (i.e. with no time to properly hang/organize all the clothing in the hotel closet), I decided to split my clothes by type (i.e. day dresses, evening dresses, t-shirts, etc) and pack each type separately in large dust bags. This made it very easy to find any item (without messing the whole suitcase content up, which is something that makes me crazy. I hate untidy suitcases and wrinkled clothes) and saved me a lot of time in the constant packing/unpacking process (I literally only had to stack the dust bags in layers in the suitcase).

I knew that all those net-a-porter bags I kept over the years would serve me for something…

And c’est fini. Next post(s) I’ll tell you about Sicily. xx

