Tags

I said it on twitter, on facebook, to friends I met, to my mother in Portugal. And I need to say it here too. The Chilean documentary “Nostalgia for the Light”, which was released in 2010 but  screened in Britain only this summer,  is a masterpiece. It must be seen.

I love cinema and I watch a fair amount of movies. Many of them are good, or at least OK, and serve the purpose of entertainment. A few of them are very good and I will recommend to friends and maybe re-watch them again at home. A handful of them are exceptional and make me leave the movie theater thankful for the fact that cinema exists, thankful to the director and to all the people who made these movies and thankful to life in general for giving me the chance to appreciate them.

Nostalgia for the Light is in this last category.

I’m not going to review it or tell you about the story. My English and my writing skills wouldn’t allow me to do justice to its quality. I’ll leave you with the trailer and I hope it will instigate your curiosity…

In fact, I’ll leave also the trailers of 2 other movies that I watched in the last couple of years and that also inspired the same sort of fascination, admiration and “gratitude”:  “Of Gods and Men” and “A Prophet”.
Here they are… (note of warning: A Prophet might be a little violent)

Nostalgia for the Light (Patricio Guzmán, 2010)

Of Gods and Men (Xavier Beauvois, 2010)

A Prophet (Jacques Audiard, 2009)

Have you watched any of these movies?
What movies have you seen and loved recently?

