Tags

, , , ,

A few things I’ve bought over the last few months…

Sachajuan volume shampoo: this was my latest purchase. It’s the first volume shampoo I’ve ever bought in my life. I’ve got a lot of hair, but because it’s very heavy it can easily look droopy and a bit lifeless.
I’ve only used this shampoo twice but it definitely seems to deliver on its promise. A simple wash with this shampoo followed by a 5-minute blow-dry (or maybe it was only 2 minutes? I’m very lazy when it comes to hairdry) are enough to leave me with a lion’s mane. In the good way :)

Another thing I like about this shampoo is the scent. I don’t think it’s to everyone’s taste, though. It has this old-style powdery smell that I find very interesting. It reminds me of the smell of my grandmother’s drawers actually :) And it lingers on your hair in a very subtle way for quite a while, which is nice.

On the negative side… you need to use quite a lot of to lather AND it’s quite expensive. Not sure I’ll buy it again.

L’Occitane almond shower oil: this is a product I’ve wanted to try since I first read about it in one of my favourite beauty blogs, Dia de Beauté (in Portuguese only), a long time ago. It is really, really wonderful – it’s an oil that when in contact with water transforms into foam. It smells wonderfully (if you like the smell of almonds) and it’s moisturising without being in any way greasy.

I’d definitely buy it again if it weren’t so expensive. I like to keep a more upscale alternative in the shower booth as a little treat for myself, but this time my husband seems to have developed a taste for this shower oil and he’s been using it abundantly, like water. At this pace the bottle won’t reach Christmas…

I can only see two alternatives: either (i) I hide the bottle from him (mean, mean… I cannot do that, can I?) or (ii) I (let him) finish this bottle and then look for a cheaper alternative. Can anyone recommend an affordable shower oil? I’ve seen Nivea has some…

Bumble and bumble surf spray: this is another one I’ve wanted to try for a long, long time after reading countless good reviews in magazines and blogs around the world. I went for a tiny 50 ml bottle as an experiment (I’ve bought it here) because I thought that going for the full size would be too big of a risk since I’m not very good at styling my hair.

How do I find it? Cool, it does leave your hair with a lot of texture, I mean, I’ve-just-come-from-the-beach kind of texture, which is quite useful to tame my fringe. However, texture comes at the price of lackluster hair and I am the kind of girl who likes her hair shiny and silky on 350 out of 365 days in the year (the remaining 15 days are spent on the beach, where surf spray is redundant).

Benefit brow shaping kit: this one I got in my last visit to Gatwick airport (honestly, I cannot go to an airport and not buy a beauty product. It’s ridiculous. Do you suffer from the same problem?). I love well-defined brows and was looking for a replacement for my Clinique brow pencil, which decided to break after less than 1 year of use. The ladies at the beauty counter talked me into this kit from Benefit. It consists of a wax to shape/discipline the brows and a powder to fill in gaps and give the brows more definition.

Yes, it is good. However, I still find the pencils easier to handle. If I could go back in time I’d rather get a brow pencil by Anastasia (available from Cult Beauty) and combine it with my Benefit’s speed brow gel (which is a really good product, by the way).

All in all, I don think any of these new products will make it to my top shelf

